Thursday, June 13, 2019

Transcribing City Council Discussions for greater Accessibility and Transparency

City Hall Hansard: Transcribing City Council Discussions for greater Accessibility and Transparency - by Councillor Brad Bradford, seconded by Councillor Paul Ainslie
City Council Decision
City Council on April 16 and 17, 2019, adopted the following:

1. City Council request the City Clerk to report to the Special Committee on Governance, for consideration as part of the Committee's work plan, on the feasibility of implementing accurate time effective transcription of meetings of City Council and the various committees, boards, agencies and special committees and such report to include:
a. a review of the transcription services used in other jurisdictions, including the Provincial and Federal Governments;
b. the cost of implementing such transcription services;
c. a scan of technologies that could perform accurate time effective transcription services; and
d. an analysis of the equity impact of transcription services.
Background Information (City Council)
Member Motion MM6.15 
Motions (City Council)
Motion to Waive Referral (Carried)
Speaker Frances Nunziata advised Council that the provisions of Chapter 27, Council Procedures, require that Motion MM6.15 be referred to the Special Committee on Governance. A two-thirds vote of the Council Members present is required to waive referral.

Vote (Waive Referral)
Apr-17-2019 2:14 PM
Result: CarriedTwo-Thirds Required - MM6.15 - Waive referral
Yes: 21Paul Ainslie, Ana Bailão, Brad Bradford, Shelley Carroll, Mike Colle, Gary Crawford, Joe Cressy, John Filion, Paula Fletcher, Mark Grimes, Cynthia Lai, Mike Layton, Josh Matlow, Jennifer McKelvie, Frances Nunziata (Chair), James Pasternak, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, Jaye Robinson, Michael Thompson, Kristyn Wong-Tam 
No: 3Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Denzil Minnan-Wong 
Absent: 2Michael Ford, John Tory 

Motion to Adopt Item (Carried)

Vote (Adopt Item)
Apr-17-2019 4:18 PM
Result: CarriedMajority Required - MM6.15 - Adopt the item
Yes: 12Ana Bailão, Brad Bradford, Shelley Carroll, Gary Crawford, Cynthia Lai, Mike Layton, Josh Matlow, Jennifer McKelvie, Gord Perks, Anthony Perruzza, John Tory, Kristyn Wong-Tam 
No: 8Mike Colle, John Filion, Stephen Holyday, Jim Karygiannis, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Frances Nunziata (Chair), James Pasternak, Jaye Robinson 
Absent: 6Paul Ainslie, Joe Cressy, Paula Fletcher, Michael Ford, Mark Grimes, Michael Thompson 

Point of Privilege by Councillor Shelley Carroll
Councillor Carroll, rising on a Point of Privilege, stated that she did not appreciate being admonished by the Speaker for laughing and that the Member who made the joke should be admonished.

No comments:

Post a Comment site is sat here right now while changes are made to the normal host This was done on May 28th 2019 This update post will...